Wake Up!

Nature strips away all of life’s bullshit, leaving me alone with myself. Deep within my thoughts. The solitude and calm forces me to actually feel… SOMETHING!

We have become so industrialized as a society. We became numb, desensitized to our surroundings, oblivious to the pain and unable to express compassion. Now we see animals in our neighbourhoods and feel THEY are the problem, they are getting in OUR way. Going outside “into the wild” is now considered that weird, hippy thing to do. I constantly get asked… “why?” Why the fuck not!

When did we get disconnected? More importantly, how can reacquaint ourselves with nature again?

"We lose our souls if we lose the experience of the forest, the butterflies, the song of the birds, if we can’t see the stars at night."  - Thomas Berry

“We lose our souls if we lose the experience of the forest, the butterflies, the song of the birds, if we can’t see the stars at night.” – Thomas Berry

We are a people who just don’t feel anymore. We are zombies, complete shells of what we once were and devoid of “normal” emotions. We go about the “life” we’ve been told we need to have to be successful. Survival is success, i guess… to some… It’s that paradigm of “this is what you must have in order to appear successful & normal amongst your peers”. We are functioning (just barely) in constant fight mode, living pay cheque to pay cheque just to keep up with the Joneses. We are taught this at an early age, that this is acceptable behaviour and to delineate from that course is frowned upon. Screw that.

I was one of those “sheeple”… Pushing the feelings I had aside, going to the shitty job to pay the bills and just be… Eat, sleep, work, repeat. I finally woke up! Those feelings were something I NEEDED to feel. It was so strong of a feeling I couldn’t ignore them any longer (like I have in the past). It took me breaking down in the car on the interstate to figure it out! I don’t know why it took me so long to finally listen to my feelings, but I can tell you that it feels infinitely better to no longer live in the comatose way I had been conditioned to do so. I feel alive!

"I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order."  - John Burroughs

“I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order.” – John Burroughs

I guess I AM one of those weirdos where nature is telling me something… and I am finally going to go sit and listen…

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go the fuck outside!! 🙂

– Devon

This entry was posted in Blog, desert, Happy, life, roadtrip and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

