Control.

When giving up is all you can do.

“A good traveler has no fixed plan and is not intent of arriving.” – Lao Tzu

Giving up control was/is one of the hardest things I have ever had to do. It’s simple for most people but for me it’s a question of “hands up” or “hold on for dear life” on the rollercoaster. During this trip there were many instances where I had to let go of the control and trust the process (something that I don’t do easily). They seem to go hand in hand and I’m not good at either.

We spent 9+ months planning out this road trip; we knew where we were going, what we were doing etc. The universe had other plans for us. A cold front moved into the direct location we had planned on going. We were thrown into not knowing what we were going to do before we even left. I was sick as a dog with vertigo for months before the trip and was not sure if I could actually tough it out and make a go of it. The first few days I feel I fought the control tooth and nail, not willing to give it up. I don’t even remember where, but we finally gave in.
Planning

“All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.” – Martin Buber.

Actually now that I think about it, it was the morning we left Jackpot, Nevada. I had a horrible dream the night before and normally I would take control and drive to the next destination but something inside of me told me not to. Something told me to calm down and trust and let Lisa drive. It was a simple little act but HUGE in my life. I finally was giving up the control. That was the start of finally giving in and just letting things happen how they were supposed to. We finally started trusting the road! Knowing that the road would take us exactly where we needed to go and teach us everything we needed to learn on this trip.

We finally threw our hands up on the “rollercoaster” and this was probably one of the most amazing experiences of my life.

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeing new landscapes, but in having new eyes” – Marcel Provst

– Devon

This entry was posted in Blog, change, changing, Control, desert, Jackpot, Las Vegas, life, Nevada, Planning, Random, roadtrip, spiritual, thought, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

