I Don’t Have “Friends”.

Weird title right??! Well it’s true, I don’t have friends. I don’t let people into my circle easily. I stand and observe a social situation and I hardly ever dive in. If you talk to me it’s quick, short answers. Always politely, usually with a smile. And I HATE, with a passion, small talk. If I am not interested in talking to you, I won’t do the “How are you? How’s the weather?” conversation. KILLS me inside.

That’s not to say I don’t have people in my circle or people I love and trust. I have acquaintances, whom you see and talk with a little. Maybe bump into them at a party or run into at the grocery store. But I do have a family. Sure, I have my family; mom, dad(s), sisters, brother, cousins, etc. I also have a select group of people in my life who I love dearly. THEY are my family as well. I don’t open up to you if I don’t trust you, if I don’t love you, if I wouldn’t kill or die for you.

My family consists of individuals who inspire me, test me, piss me off, love me… all that and more. I can talk about my shitty day at work, plan a yoga date with them, talk all day about an upcoming road trip we are going on, or just hang out in eachothers presence without having to say a word. Most people call them friends, but like I said, I don’t have friends… I have FAMILY!!

My family is HUGE. My grandmother used to say, “there’s always room for one more”. And she was right. Everyday I am adding to MY family. I wouldn’t have it any other way!!

I love every individual in this crazy mixed up family that have somehow found their way into my life. If I haven’t told you how much I adore and love you… It’s coming. 🙂

Yep, some call it family, I like to call it “Team Awesome”. Hahaha.

– Devon

This entry was posted in Blog, changing, desert, events, Happy, History, life, Moab, Random, Rant, thought, Vancouver Canada. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

