Putting It Out There.

I’ve decided to put it out there to the universe. I’ve decided to let everyone know what is going on in my life right now. These plans could change the RV living plans. Not by much but just push them back a few more months than we had thought. And after talking about it with Jade we are totally ok with it. A couple of months ago a family member came forward saying they were looking for a kidney donor, theirs were failing. Ever since I was a little kid I always thought if someone needs something I have, I would do my very best to get it to them. I’m the type of person that will sit in the back of the room, not saying a word, but the minute someone needs help I’m at the front. I got in contact with the transplant team and have officially stepped forward as a potential donor.

Phase 1 is figuring out your blood type, that was a fun experience. I went to the hospital to get my blood drawn (I’m not afraid of needles, I am covered in tattoos) and this nurse, who we will call “Olga”, was BRUTAL. She said in her scary Russian accent, “Vhen is your birfday??” Scared I said I haven’t a clue. Then she stabbed the blood out of me. 😦 Bruised and frightened I went back to work and wasn’t expecting results until the following week. The transplant team coordinator called me at work the next day, Friday, and told me I was in fact a blood match for the recipient. YAY! I was so, so, so happy! Then… I wanted to pass out, I became scared and not really knowing what to do. I emailed/texted and called about 10 of my close peeps and asked what the hell to do. We went into the weekend with good news… I passed the first hurdle.

Now, Phase 2 is about to start. I got my package in the mail last Friday which includes mucho blood work, urine tests, chest x-rays etc. I have to find a new doctor in my town and take really good care of myself. Taking care of myself isn’t difficult. I have a pretty good immune system (knock on wood) I eat clean (Vegan) I rarely drink etc. It’s a lot to get done in the next few weeks and I was panicking all weekend, but it just hit me. I don’t have to rush it, the doctors aren’t rushing it, there is a process and it could take up to a year to confirm all the tests. The transplant team and Phase 2 donor candidates are ahead of the schedule. Just go with the flow you damn Capricorn!

I am 28 years old and becoming a potential Kidney donor, holy shit! I’m not doing it for me, I’m not doing it for the people who are going to be saying “you’re such a good person, thank you”! Blah, blah, blah. I’m not doing it for the family of the recipient. I am doing this because when I was a child, I always told my mom if I had to give an organ to someone I would do it in a heart beat. I haven’t really talked to my family about the process just quick email updates, but I am positive 100% they support me in the decision if it does happen, that I become a donor.

Being a donor to me is like giving a cup of sugar. I have something, someone needs, I don’t need two. 🙂

So what does this mean for us full-timing in an RV?? It means it could potentially be pushed back 6 months or so. It doesn’t mean it isn’t going to happen just something else has popped up. There is a reason this is all happening and the universe has its plan and I guess we will just go with the flow.

Tell me, are any of you organ donors? Blood donors??

– Devon

This entry was posted in Blog, changing, donor, Happy, kidney, life, Motorhome, Random, Rant, RV, thought, Travel, Vancouver Canada and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

