No Planning Required.

Most activities are planned in life, from your work schedule to when you take your vacation. Extracurricular activities are planned as well. Personally, I’m not a fan of planning. I feel it takes all of the spontaneity out of life.  Things are supposed to ‘come up’, detours should be taken. How are you supposed to enjoy things and truly experience them for what they are when you’re sticking to a schedule?

Usually, all of our vacations are planned, right down to the last penny. Almost always, these are tightly timed schedules which we adhere to. This time around, I was completely taken aback when I learned that our trip to Moab, UT was NOT scheduled. There was no set plan. I cannot begin to tell you just how much this excites me. I am thrilled that there isn’t an agenda to follow.

This will be my fourth or fifth time going to Moab, which is quickly becoming one of my most cherished places to visit. There is something about the surrounding area and the scenic red rock views. Life is slower there and I appreciate that. People take their time and enjoy things. There is so much to do while we’re there. There are those who feel that returning to the same place every year isn’t really vacationing. That to travel means going to different places each time. We disagree. Until you’ve been there yourself, you simply cannot make a statement like that. You really have to see it for yourself to understand why we return each year. This year, we were particularly fortunate in that we’ve already been there once, in April. Now we get to see things we haven’t before.

There are many places along the drive down that I would very much like to visit, such as the Golden Spike, the very last spike in the railroad. There are state parks I’d like to visit, like Bryce Canyon, Horseshoe Canyon, Dead Horse Point, Zion and Canyonlands. There is also a ghost town that I’d love to stop in, Cisco, UT, just NE of Arches.

What the mass public doesn’t seem to realize is that the great state of Utah is still the Wild West. There are parts of it that are dotted with the relics of the late 1800s, with authentic abandoned farms on the side of the highway. These are truly a marvel to behold from a bygone era. Just imagine being in the same canyons as Butch Cassidy and his gang hid in after having robbed a stage coach, bank or mine. This is endlessly fascinating to me. Yes, the Wild West is alive and kicking in Utah.

So many of the things that make Utah beautiful are the natural slick rock formations throughout the bulk of the state. There is much exploring to be done in Arches National Park. There is s section I have never been and I would love to go there this time around, such as Tower Arch. Tower Arch is located in the Klondike Bluffs section of Arches, which is accessible from Salt Valley Wash. It’s a bit of a hike and by that I mean, you’re walking on a gravel and dirt road for seven miles before to start to get near the trail head. I’m not sure if this is feasible on this trip. We shall see.

There is much to be said about going out into the wilderness and being one with nature. There are many dangers to watch out for. We go for many reasons, each are personal to each other. I go because I fell in love with the surroundings. It’s awe inspiring to stand there, high up on a rock fin, looking over a great valley, all the while knowing that dinosaurs once roamed freely below. Truly a wonder.

So, for this particular journey, I am pleased that there are no set plans. We are free to throw in as many detours as we can find. The options are limitless. The world is our oyster and I, for one, am excited to start the adventure. This is going to be our most epic road trip of all.

Stay tuned. I’ll be posting a review of our trip.

– Jade

This entry was posted in Moab, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

